Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. of Hanlon Niemann, a New Jersey Medicaid Application Attorney
Filing the Application
Federal and New Jersey state laws regulate the Medicaid application process. The federal law on Medicaid applications is found in the Code of Federal Regulations, 42 C.F.R. §435.900. The state regulations concerning Medicaid applications are found in the New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 10, and Section 71. Internal agency memoranda, called Medicaid Communications, from the state Medicaid agency to the county boards of social services must also be consulted.
Extensive documentary evidence and information is required by the Medicaid agency to successfully file and complete an application. Because the evidence required is so extensive, Hanlon Niemann must often meet with the client at their house if necessary to assist with the completion of the required information.
In the usual Medicaid application case, the following information and documents are required, and must be provided to the agency along with the application:
Verifications Required for Medicaid Applications
1). Birth Date/Citizenship Information
Birth certificate, baptismal record, passport, voter’s registration card, naturalization papers, or alien registration card.
2). Marriage Certificate/Divorce Papers/Death Record
Copy of marriage certificate
Copy of divorce papers, if divorced
Copy of death record, if spouse is deceased.
3). Social Security Card
4). Health Insurance Card
A copy of the Medicare Card, front and back, is needed in addition to any supplemental coverage such as AARP, prescription cards, Blue Cross, major medical, etc. A copy of medical coverage premium invoice is also required.
5). Bank Statements
Submit the following for all bank accounts (checking, savings, CDs, IRAs, etc.) that were open at any time during the past 60 months (even accounts now closed) and that were in the names of either spouse or held jointly with someone else:
Bank statements for each month for the past 60 months
Passbooks covering the past 60 months
Canceled checks for $500.00 or more for the past 60 months
Provide an explanation for all transactions of $500.00 or more
Continue to provide statements received between the application date and the date your case is granted by the state.